HPP_img_8649 - Behandlung

Treatment (therapy)

How is endometriosis treated?

We use a consistent but individually tailored treatment concept to treat endometriosis. The treatment strategy includes a combination of various surgical techniques with modern hormone agents or medications, coupled with complementary treatments.

Our fertility patients suffering from endometriosis will not receive care according to a rigid fertility treatment regimen. Rather, they will first have a consultation according to the stage of their condition and can then discuss the treatment regimen with the attending doctor.

Our goal is to eliminate or alleviate the symptoms, as well as to minimise new flare-ups of endometriosis with all of the associated problems and thus to improve quality of life. Another goal is to strengthen the immune system and to provide psychological care to our patients.

Treatment process:

The consultation with the doctor will start with us asking about the goal of the treatment: What is most important for you?

  1. Do you want to have children? or
  2. Is the treatment for endometriosis alone?

During the consultation, we will work out a personalised treatment management for you. We are a team of specialists who work “hand-in’hand”. Our team includes surgeons, specialists in endocrinology and fertility, pain therapists, urologists and radiologists and physicians practicing alternative therapies such as homoeopathy, acupuncture and bioresonance therapy, as well as psychologists.

The treatment should be tailored for each woman, based on her medical history, individual life circumstances and needs. It should also be part of a long-term and consistent treatment concept.

There is no causative treatment (i.e. a treatment aimed at eliminating the cause) for endometriosis. This means that all of the therapeutic agents and techniques that we use target the symptoms: in other words, if the treatment is stopped, the disease may return quickly, depending on how advanced it is.

In most cases, treatment starts with “keyhole surgery”. Hereby the surgeon gets an idea of the severity of the disease, takes samples for histological analysis and attempts to “clean up” the endometriosis, which will ideally mean complete removal. Here, there is always an option available to involve a surgeon or urologist for cases of advanced endometriosis in order to ensure that the surgeries will not have to be concluded unresolved.

At this point, the question as to whether you want children is of relevance. If you do, the fertility treatment should follow immediately.

If you are finished with your family planning, we will have several options to develop a treatment plan together . The options are as follows:

Hormone therapies: Because endometriotic tissue is oestrogen dependent in most cases, many treatments target reducing the amount of oestrogen in the body. This is supposed to contain the development of diseased tissue and will ideally result in “atrophy” (i.e., the wasting away of this tissue). There are a variety of hormone therapies which will be explained to you during your consultation (these include gestagens alone, combined agents like the pill and the coil).

Pain therapy: Pain medications have no effect on the course of the disease itself. These are therefore called “symptomatic therapy”. Pain should definitely be treated adequately and under no circumstances borne “heroically” “until you really cannot bear it any longer”. The earlier an effective pain therapy can be started, the sooner it will probably be possible to reduce the amount of pain medications again. The goal must be to avoid the development of a pain memory.

Complementary treatment options: Acupuncture, homoeopathy, traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), alternative therapeutic agents and bioresonance therapy, as well as yoga, Tai Chi and progressive muscle relaxation. These therapies are not causative (meaning that they do not eliminate the cause). However, they do improve wellbeing and strengthen the immune system. Relaxation methods may relax painful tension. Unfortunately, none of these approaches is capable of curing endometriosis.

HPP_img_8649 - Behandlung

Behandlung (Therapie)

Wie behandelt man Endometriose?

Endometriose wird bei uns nach einem konsequenten, aber individuell angepassten Behandlungskonzept therapiert. Die Kombination verschiedener Operationstechniken mit modernen Hormonpräparaten oder Medikamenten sowie komplementären Therapieansätzen sind Bestandteile der Behandlungsstrategie.

Unsere an Endometriose erkrankten Kinderwunschpatientinnen werden nicht nach einem starr festgelegten Kinderwunsch-Therapie-Schema versorgt, sondern erhalten zunächst eine stadiengerechte Beratung und können dann mit der behandelnden Ärztin oder dem Arzt das therapieregime besprechen.

Unser Ziel ist die Beseitigung oder Verringerung der Beschwerden sowie die Minimierung neuer Endometrioseschübe mit all ihren Problemen und somit die Steigerung der Lebensqualität. Ein weiteres Ziel ist die Stärkung des Immunsystems und die psychologische Betreuung unserer Patientinnen.

Therapieablauf:

Am Anfang des ärztlichen Geprächs werden wir das Ziel der Behandlung besprechen:

Was steht für Sie im Vordergrund?

  1. Haben Sie einen Kinderwunsch? oder
  2. Soll „nur“ die Endometriose therapiert werden?

Im Gespräch werden wir ein für Sie individuelles Therapie-Management erarbeiten. Wir sind ein Team von Spezialisten, die „Hand-in-Hand“ arbeiten. Operateure, Endokrinologen- und Kinderwunsch-Spezialisten, Schmerztherapeuten, Urologen, Chirurgen, Radiologen –aber auch Ärzte für naturheilkundliche Therapien wie Homöopathie, Akupunktur, Bio-Resonanz-Therapie und Psychologen.

Die Behandlung sollte auf die jeweilige Frau, ihre Krankengeschichte, ihre individuelle Lebenssituation und ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmt sein und Teil eines langfristigen, konsequenten Behandlungskonzepts sein.

Für die Endometriose gibt es keine kausale (die Ursache beseitigende) Therapie, d.h. alle Therapeutika, die wir anwenden können, sind symptomatisch: D.h., wenn die Therapie abgesetzt wird, kann die Erkrankung stadienabhängig gegebenenfalls schnell wieder kommen.

Die Therapie beginnt meist mit einer “Schlüsselloch-Operation”. Hier verschafft der Operateur sich ein Bild vom Grad der Erkrankung, entnimmt Proben für eine feingewebliche Untersuchung und strebt die „Sanierung“ also im Idealfall, die komplette Entfernung der Endometriose an. Im Falle einer fortgeschrittenen Endometriose ist immer die Hinzuziehung eines Chirurgen oder Urologen möglich, sodass die Operationen ggf. nicht inkomplett abgeschlossen werden müssen.

Nun ist relevant, ob Sie einen Kinderwunsch haben? Dann sollte im Anschluss direkt die Kinderwunsch-Therapie durchgeführt werden.

Wenn Ihre Familienplanung abgeschlossen ist, werden wir unter mehreren Optionen gemeinsam eine Therapie erarbeiten. Möglichkeiten sind:

Hormontherapien: Da Endometriosegewebe in den meisten Fällen östrogenabhängig ist, zielen viele Therapien auf die Reduzierung der Östrogenmengen im Körper ab.  Dies soll zu einem Eindämmen des krankhaften Gewebes führen – idealerweise zu einer „Atrophie“ (einem „verkümmern“). Die Arten der Hormontherapien sind vielfältig und werden Ihnen im Gespräch erläutert werden (Gestagene allein, kombinierte Präparate wie die Pille, die Hormon-Spirale).

Schmerztherapie: Schmerzmedikamente haben keinen Einfluss auf den Verlauf der eigentlichen Erkrankung. Man spricht daher von einer “Symptomatischen Therapie”. Schmerzen sollten unbedingt suffizient behandelt werden und auf keinen Fall „heldenhaft“ ertragen werden, „bis es wirklich nicht mehr geht“. Je früher eine effektive Schmerztherapie begonnen wird, desto eher kann die Menge an Schmerzmitteln wahrscheinlich wieder reduziert werden. Ziel muss es sein, die Entstehung eines Schmerzgedächtnisses zu vermeiden.

Komplementäre Behandlungsmöglichkeiten: Akupunktur, Homöopathie, Traditionelle Chinesischer Medizin (TCM), naturheilkundliche Therapeutika, Bio-Resonanz-Therapie, aber auch Joga, Tai Chi, progressive Muskelentspannung gehören dazu. Diese Therapien sind nicht kausal (Ursache behebend). Aber sie heben das Wohlbefinden und stärken das Immunsystem. Entspannungsmethoden können schmerzhafte Verspannungen lösen. Keiner dieser Ansätze ist leider in der Lage, Endometriose zu heilen.